Home | Support | FAQ | Contact
Main Menu

Main Menu:

News & Events

Board Meeting

September 07, 2015 - Regular board meeting

Collection of the Month

August 31, 2015 - July through August; Guess the names of pictured famous people and win a prize!

KMA 90th Annivesary

August 08, 2015 - Sunday at 2pm there will be a progarm at the museum on the KMA 90th Anniversary by Molly Winegardner

About Us

Greater Shenandoah Historical Society
800 W. Sheridan Ave, Shenandoah, IA 51601



Tuesday through Friday 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM


Mission Statement

The Greater Shenandoah Historical Society is a non-profit, educational institution dedicated to the collection, preservation, presentation and interpretation of significant historical information and artifacts from the western half of Page County, Iowa and the eastern third of Fremont County, Iowa.


Institution Values

The Greater Shenandoah Historical Society recognizes its position as the principal historical organization for the Shenandoah area and its role as advocate of area history. The Society believes history is an essential part of the fabric and identity of the area, and holds the following institutional values:


Love of History

The love of history drives the Society in its attempt to collect, preserve, store and display the history of the greater Shenandoah area.



Through preservation, the Society aims to retain knowledge of Shenandoah’s past and make it accessible to those interested in the area’s rich history


Rediscovery of the Past

Access to the area’s history allows those interested in the area to rediscover and relive their own pasts.


Education and Understanding

The Society aims to help educate its visitors, to promote a deeper understanding of the Greater Shenandoah area and its history, and to give the visitors a fuller appreciation of all the area has to offer.


Board of Directors

Ron Oestmann - President
Pat Perkins - Vice President
Linda Haldane - Treasurer
Toni Graham - Secretary
Joan Schebaum
Spike Spargur
Jeannie Webb
Lillian Irvin

Museum Director

Sallie Brownlee

Committee members

John Greenleaf- Building
Derry Wolford-Building
Ralph Braymen-Building
Chuck Irvin-Exhibits
Molly Winegardner-Exhibits
Keith McCall-Exhibits
Linda Tyler-Hospitality
Bill Greenleaf-Archives
Pat Aust- Sites & Tours
Dick Hunt- Sites & Tours
Jeannine Liljedahl- Program
Elinor Sharp- School House
Lucille Mathis- School House